Board of Directors

NKF Board of Directors 2020

 Pictured:  Nohealani Ralar, Sally Werblun, Louise Ross, Janice Studwell (back), Shelley Hee, Yvette Laborte, Feliza Duque
Not Pictured: Chuck Barnum

Message from the Board of Directors:

The Foundation Board of Directors are truly a special group of volunteers.  For the past 50-plus years, the Board has been comprised of current and past employees of the Napili Kai Beach Resort, shareholders and owners of the Resort, parents of current and past keiki (children) members of the program, and adult alumni of the Foundation.

The first and foremost qualification for a Director is a true love and respect of the culture and of the keiki, as well as a firm determination to preserve and protect its values and teachings for the present and future generations.

Directors come to the Board with their individual expertise, but share the common goal of maintaining both the cultural aspects of the program and the unique aspect of encouraging the higher education component through the scholarship program.

The Board also has in place an Advisory Committee that further expands the expertise needed in the area of financial investments, cultural awareness, and community outreach and fundraising.

Fundraising is a crucial part of the Foundation’s program, and since all Directors and Advisors are unpaid volunteers, 100 percent of all donations go directly to program expenses.

We invite you to view our website, visit our show, and become a part of the Napili Kai Foundation ‘Ohana (family).
With warmest Aloha,

The Napili Kai Foundation Board of Directors

Napili Kai Foundation Board of Directors & Advisory Committee

Napili Kai Foundation Lou Ross

President – Louise Ross

Louise is a retired Certified Hotel Administrator, who worked at the Napili Kai Beach Club (and later the Resort) in various executive positions for 25 years (1977-2002).  Her involvement with the Napili Kai Foundation began almost immediately.  She was born in Gibraltar, U.K., grew up in the International Zone of Tangiers, Morocco, and married Al, a ‘Maui Boy’ in Rabat, Morocco.  They had 4 children, travelled extensively during his military career, and continued to do so even after settling on Maui permanently.  She is fluently tri-lingual (English, French and Spanish).

Louise’s community involvements included Maui County Planning Commissioner 1994-1999; Director, West Maui Taxpayers Association; West Maui Road Clean Ups coordinator 1980-1990; and President, Treasurer, Secretary and/or Director of numerous homeowner association boards.  In her spare time, Louise became a student of the eminent Kumu Hula Auntie Emma Farden Sharpe in 1985 until her death in 1995.  She is passionate about the Hawaiian Culture, hula, genealogy and travel.

Napili Kai Foundation Janice Studwell

Vice President – Janice C. Studwell

Janice is a Director and Shareholder of the  Napili Kai Beach Resort.  She is experienced in public relations in business, schools, and community organizations.  She has board experience with the City of Manhattan Beach (California), Coordinating Council, Legislative Representative to Sacramento for schools, District Strategic Planning Committee and District Advisory Council.  She was on the Board of Directors for Soroptimist International, an organization working to improve the lives of women and girls.  She has been involved in the Maui community since 1988, and is a resident.

Treasurer – Shelley Hee

Secretary – Yvette Laborte

Napili Kai Foundation BOD

Director – Chuck Barnum

Chuck is a shareholder at Napili Kai Beach Resort.  He is the Owner and Administrator of the Appleton, Wisconsin, Extended Care Center. He was a member of Habitat for Humanity from 1967-1987.  He was a board member of the Greater Fox Cities Area from 2000-2006.  He is a member of Fund Development for Fox Valley Memory Project from 2000 to present.  He is the Founder of Stay Near the Cross (www.staynearthecross.com).  He has been a Foundation board member from 2004 to present.

Napili Kai Foundation Sally Werblun

Director – Sally Werblun

Sally is a parent of a Foundation member graduate who is also a recipient of a Foundation higher education scholarship.  
Sally attends every weekly show and is in charge of the logo items and the craft table.  
Sally was originally from Philadelphia and has been a Maui resident for 12 years.

Napili Kai Foundation Feliza Duque

Director – Feliza Duque

Napili Kai Foundation Sheila Burke

Financial/Investment Advisor – Sheila Burke

Sheila is a shareholder at the Napili Kai Beach Resort.  She has 32 years of board experience and leadership in strategic planning and finance with an emphasis in historical preservation and career pathways for youth.  For the past 20 years, she has been the Founding Director and President of Borina Foundation, an eight figure foundation designating millions of dollars for the betterment of children and communities.
Cultural Advisor – Hailama Farden

Napili Kai Foundation Tina Woodward

Fundraising and Special Events Advisor – Tina Woodward

Tina is a retired Human Resources executive who held both HR and line positions at IBM, Cisco, and Charles Schwab.  Tina is currently the Vice President of the Perna-Rose Foundation for Hope.  She has previously been an officer on the boards of ARIS (San Jose, CA) and Family Service Agency and Out & Equal Workplace Advocates (both based in San Francisco, CA).  Tina lives in Palo Alto, CA, with her wife, Lynda Slutman Elliott, and their cat, Zoe.  She loves to read, loves sports, and loves animals.

Napili Kai Foundation Sara Lo

Hui Makua Association President – Sara Lo

Sara’s nephew was a member of the Foundation until he moved to the mainland.  Sara is an enthusiastic volunteer and became involved in all aspects of fundraising.  Her commitment has provided great success in fundraising activities and she coordinates the parents and guardians of the Foundation members in these important activities.  Sara was named President of Hui Makua Association, which is the parent association of the Foundation.

Founders and Past Presidents:

Margaret Millar – Founder
Jack Millar – Founder
Dorothy Millar – Founder
Douglas Tihada – Past President
James Shefte – Past President
Linda Iwamoto – Past President